Awarded the 2016 Ian Nish Prize

Japan Forum

I am completely humbled – and just a tiny little bit surprised – to announce that I have been awarded the 2016 Ian Nish Prize from the British Association for Japanese Studies. I’d like to take the opportunity to thank my PhD supervisors Prof Carolyn Stevens and Dr Sarah Pasfield-Neofitou for their help in preparing this article for publication and their encouragement of my research. I also must acknowledge Dr Claire Maree who provided me with some great insights on the ideas presented in this article during a post-panel chat at the International Convention of Asia Scholars in Adelaide, 2015 where I had presented an initial version of the paper which became this manuscript. Last but not least, I wish to thank my interlocutors in Tokyo who graciously shared their experiences with me. I am continuing to work with these young men and to explore the intersections of ethnicity and sexuality in Japan through my current work.

Here is the official release, including a link to my article. I’ve been told it should be freely accessible until around mid-November.

The British Association for Japanese Studies is pleased to announce that the 2016 Ian Nish Prize for best article published in its journal Japan Forum has been awarded to Dr Thomas Baudinette, Lecturer in Japanese Studies at Macquarie University, Australia. His article ‘Ethnosexual frontiers in queer Tokyo: the production of racialised desire in Japan’ was published by Japan Forum in May 2016 (28:4).

The Ian Nish Prize is awarded annually by the British Association for Japanese Studies for the best article by an early career scholar in any discipline of Japanese Studies published in Japan Forum, the journal of the British Association for Japanese Studies.

Professor Ian Hill Nish CBE is Professor Emeritus of International History at the London School of Economics and Political Science where he served from 1962 to 1991. His main fields of interest and research are Japan’s foreign relations and in particular Japan-China relations over the twentieth century.

The ‘Ian Nish Prize’ was launched in 2001 as the ‘Daiwa Japan Forum Prize’. Previous award winners include: Erin L Brightwell (2015), Josh Petitto (2014), Tin Tin Htun (2013), Tuukka Toivonen (2012) and Scot Hislop (2011).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s